The Union and its Territories

- 1. Article 1 lays-down that India, i.e. Bharat, shall be a Union of States. The Territory of India shall consist of (i) the Territories of the States, (ii) the Union Territories and (iii) any Territories that may be acquired.
- **2.** Article 1 of the Constitution describes India as a Union of States not as a federation of states. Union of India is not the result of an agreement, nor has any State the right to secede from it.
- 3. The Federation is called a Union of States, because it is indestructib e.
- **4.** The Union Territories are not included in the "Union of Stat's". Where the expression "Territory of India" includes the States, the Union T rritorie and such other territories as may be acquired by India.
- **5.** The States and their territories are specified in the Fir Schedul o the Constitution. The Constitution empowers the Parliament for the d ission or establishment of new States.
- **6.** Article 2 provides that Parliament ma by 1 w admit ew States into the Union of India or establish new States on such te ms and co diti ns as it deems fit.
- 7. The Parliament has admitted French ttlements of Pondicherry, Karaikal, Mahe and Yenam, the Portuguese ett ements f Goa, Diu and Daman and Sikkim, etc. into India after independence.
- **8.** Article 3 of the C nstitution em owers the Parliament to form a new State by altering boundaries o existing S tes.