Reorganization of States

- 1. A Bill seeking to create a new State or alter boundaries of existing States can be introduced in either House of the Parliament, only on the recommendation of the President.
- 2. President refers (The State Reorganization Bill to the State Legislature concerned for its opinion, fixing a time limit.
- **3.** Parliament is not bound to accept or act upon the views of the State L gislatu e on a state Reorganization Bill. The State Reorganization Bill requires simple majo y in oth Houses of the Parliament.
- **4.** It is not necessary to obtain the views of legislatures of Uni n territ ies before a bill affecting their boundaries or names is introduced.
- **5.** The States Reorganization Act, 1956 reorganised the undaries f different States to establish a new State of Kerala and merge the form States f Madhya Bharat, Pepsu, Saurashtra, Travancore, Cochin, Ajmer, Bhopal Coorg, Kutch nd Vindhya Pradesh in other adjoining States and thus 14 states and 6 Union Terr ories were established in India.
- **6.** The Bombay Reorganization Act, 196 divided the State of Bombay to establish two States of Gujarat and Maharashtr
- 7. In 1962 Nagaland was cre d as a sep ate State.
- 8. In 1966, Punjab w s divided int Punjab and Haryana.
- **9.** Union Territ ry of Himachal Pradesh was made the State of Himachal Pradesh by an Act of 1 70.
- **10.** States o Manipu, ripura, Meghalaya and Union Territories of Mizoram and Arunach l Prad h were established in 1971. Later Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh achieved s tehood n 1986.
- 11. Sikkim was made part of India by 36th Amendment of the Constitution.
- 12. In 1987 Goa was made a separate State of the Union.
- **13.** Chhattisgarh came into existence on 1st November, 2000.
- 14. Uttaranchal (now Uttarakhand) came into existence on 8th November, 2000.

- **15.** The State of Jharkhand, which was established on 15th November 2000 is the newest (28th) State of India.
- **16.** The Union Government (on 30 July, 2013) gave a go ahead to create 'Telangana' (the proposed 29th State) bifurcating Andhra Pradesh.
- 17. Telangana came into being on the 2nd June 2014.

