Planning Commission

- 1. Planning Commission is not mentioned in the Constitution.
- **2.** Planning Commission is an economic advisory body set up by a resolution of the Union Cabinet in 1950.
- **3.** At present, the Planning Commission consists of the Chairman, four Ministers as part time members and seven full-time members.
- **4.** Prime Minister is the Chairman of Planning Commission.
- **5.** Main functions of the Planning Commission are :
- **6.** To prepare an integrated Five Year Plan for the most eff ti and bala ed utilisation of the country's resources for economic and social develoment.
- 7. To act as an advisory body to the Union Government and State Governments.