The Official Languages

- 1. The Official language of the Union is Hindi in Devanagri script [Art. 343]. English was to continue to be used as principal official language of the Union side-by-side with Hindi till 1965.
- **2.** The first Official Language Commission was appointed in 1955 under Shri B.G. Kher as Chairman and it recommended that a rigid date line for change over of language should not be prescribed. This recommendation was accepted.

Language of the State/Link Language:

- **1.** Article 345 seeks to tackle the issue of the official language or ch st an the language for intra-State official transactions.
- 2. The Legislature of a State can adopt any one or more anguag s used in the State or Hindi for the official purposes of that State. There is also provision for the recognition of any other language for the official purpose of a S te or any part thereof, upon a substantial popular demand for it being made to the Pres dent { ef.: Art. 347}.

Language of the SC and HCs and auth itati e text of aws:

- 1. Until Parliament by law provides other ise, English is the language of authoritative text of—? All proceedings in the peme C urt and in every High Court. ? All Bills or amendments thereto moved nether H se of Parliament or the State Legislature. ? All Acts passed by Parliament or Legislatu of a State. ? All Ordinances promulgated by the President or the Gove or of State. ? All orders rules, regulations and by-laws issued under Constitu on or under y law made by Parliament or the legislature of a State.
- **2.** A Sta Legis ature can ribe the use of any language other than English for Bills and Acts p sed by itself or Subordinate Legislation made thereunder.
- **3.** The 1 guage included in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution are: Assamese, Bengali, G rati, H ndi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malyalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepalese, Oriy Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, Maithili, Santhali, Dogri and Bodo.
- **4.** Sindhi was inserted by the Constitution (21st Amendment) Act, 1967.
- **5.** Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali were inserted by the Constitution (71st Amendment) Act, 1992.

- **6.** Maithili, Dogri, Bodo and Santhali were inserted by the Constitution (92nd Amendment) Act, 2003.
- 7. The only privileges gained by the languages included in the 8th Schedule are
- **8.** To have a member in the Official Language Commission.
- **9.** To be considered for contribution towards the development of Hindi language.