Lapse of Paramountcy

1. When the Indian Independence Act 1947, was passed, it declared the lapse of suzerainty (paramountcy) of the crown, in sec. 7(i)(b) of the Act.

2. As from the appointed day—the suzerainty of His Majesty over the Indian States lapses, and with it, all treaties and agreements in force at the date of the passing of this Act between His Majesty and the rulers of Indian States, all functions exercisable by His Majesty at the date with respect to Indian States, all obligations of His Majesty existing at that date towards Indian States or the rulers thereof, and all powers, right auth ity, or jurisdiction exercisable by His Majesty at that date in or in relation to In ian S ates by treaty, grant, usage, sufferance or otherwise......

3. Of the states situated within the geographical boundaries of t e Dom nion of India, all (numbering 552) save Hyderabad, Kashmir, Bahawalpur, Ju rh and th N.W.F. (North West Frontier) states (Chitral, Phulra, Dir, Swat and Amb) had acceded to the Dominion of India by the 15th August, 1947, i.e. before 'appoint d day' itself.