Inter-State Council

- 1. Inter-State Council was constituted in April, 1990 under Art. 263.
- **2.** Inter-State Council consists of Prime Minister, 6 Union Cabinet Ministers, the Chief Ministers of all the States and administrators of all UTs.
- **3.** The Sarkaria Commission recommended the constitution of a permanent Inter-State Council for co-ordination among States and with the Union. (Justice R.S. Sarkaria died in 2007.)
- **4.** Inter-state Council is chaired by the Prime Minister and it meets thri year.