Finance Commission

The Constitution provides for the establishment of a Finance Commission (Art. 270, 273, 275 and 280) by the President. The first Finance Commission was constituted in 1951.

Finance Commissioners of India

- 1. The Finance Commission consists of a Chairman and four other members.
- 2. According to the qualifications prescribed by the Parliament, the chairman is lected among persons who have had experience in public affairs, while the members re selected among persons who: \star are or have been or are qualified to be ap ointed j dges of the High Court; or \star have special knowledge of the finance and ac ounts government; or \star have had wide experience in financial mat and in a ministration; or \star have special knowledge of economics.
- **3.** The members of the commission hold office for such per d as may be specified by the President in his orders and are eligible for reapp intme
- **4.** The main functions or duties of the Fin ce ommissio are: \bigstar To recommend to the President the basis for distribution of the net proc ds of taxes between the centre and states. \bigstar To recommend the principles which should govern the grants in-aid to be given to states out of the consolidated Fund f Indi \bigstar To tender advice to the President on any other matter referred to e Commis on in the interest of sound finance. \bigstar To suggest amounts to be paid to t states of Assam, Bihar, Odisha and West Bengal in lieu of the assignment of sy em of exp rt duty on Jute products.
- **5.** The commission sumits its rmommendations to the President which are generally accepted by the entral Government. The recommendations of the Commission are applicable for a eriod of five years.