Expansion of British Power (In the context of Bengal, Mysore, Punjab etc.)

Bengal

1. Murshil Quli Khan (1717-27) : In 1717, Murshid Quli Khan was appointed as Bengal's Subedar i.e. governor by Mughal emperor Farrukh Siyar. Grant of the Governorship of Orissa also to him by Farrukh Siyar in 1719. He transferred the capital of Bengal from Dacca to Murshidabad.

2. Shujauddin (1727-39) : He was the son-in-law of Murshid Quli ha He was granted the Governorship of Bihar by Mughal emperor Muh mad hah 'Rangeela' in 1733.

3. Sarfaraj Khan (1739-40) : He was the son of Shuj uddin and was murdered by Alivardi Khan, the Deputy Governor of Bihar, in 17 0

4. Alivardi Khan (1740-56): Legalised his us rpat n by ceiving a farman from Mughal emperor Muhammad Shah 'Range Ia' after aying him Rs. 2 Crores. He prevented the English and the French from fortifying heir factories at Calcutta and Chandranagore respectively.

Sirajuddaula : 1756-57

1. Alivardi Khan was succ e ed by h grandson Sirajuddaula.

2. Sirajuddaula seize th Eng h factory at Kasimbazar. On 20th June, 1756, Fort William surren ered but Rob t Clive recovered Calcutta.

3. On 2nd Jan 1757, Treaty f Alinagar was signed, where by Siraj conceded practica all t e demands. British then captured Chandranagore, the French sett ement, n h 1757.

4. The B ttle of Plassey was fought on 23 June, 1757. Owing to the conspiracy, the Nawab was defeated.

5. The following etrayed the Nawab:

Mir Jafar : 1757-60

The company was granted undisputed right to free trade in Bengal, Bihar and Orissa. It received the zamindari of 24 Parganas. Mir Jafar, however, fell into arrears and was forced to abdicate in favour of his son-in-law Mir Qasim.

Mir Qasim : 1760-64

1. Mir Qasim ceded Burdwan, Midnapore and Chittagong. He shifted his capital from Murshidabad to Munger.

2. Mir Qasim soon revolted as he was angry with the British for misusing the dastak (free duty passes). However, having been defeated by the British, he fled to Awadh, where he formed a confederacy with Awadh ruler Shujauddaula and Mughal emperor Shah Alam II.

3. The Battle of Buxar (1764) : Mir Qasim, Shujauddaula and Sha Alam II were defeated by Munro.

4. Mir Jafar was again placed on the throne.

5. Successors of Mir Qasim : Mir Jafar (1764-65), Nazmuddaulah (1765-66), Saifuddaula (1766-70), Mubaraquddaula (1770-72)

6. On Mir Jafar's death, his son Nazmuddaula wa plac d on the throne and signed a treaty on 20th Feb., 1765 by whic the Na ab was to disband most of his army and to administer Bengal through a Deputy ubedar nominated by the Company.

7. Clive concluded two separate treatie of Allahabad with Shah Alam II (12 Aug., 1765) and Shujauddau (16 Aug., 1765).

Dual Government of Beng : 1765-72

1. Dual Governmen of Bengal sta ted in 1765.

2. The Compa y acq ired bo h Diwani and Nizamat rights from Nazmuddaula, the Naw b of engal. But the company did not take over direct administration and reven c tion

3. Warre Hasti gs ended the dual system of government in 1772.

Mysore

Haidar Ali : 1761-82

1. Haidar Ali began his career as a soldier in the service of the Mysore state, later he became the faujdar of Dindigul. He established a modern arsenal in Dindigul with the help of French.

2. In 1761, he overthrowed the Nanjarajar (the powerful Prime Minister of Wodeyar king Krishraja I) and usurped power, though continuing to recognise Krishnraja I as the lawful ruler.

3. First Anglo-Mysore war (1766-69) : Haider Ali defeated the British. The Treaty of Madras (1769) signed.

4. Second Anglo-Mysore war (1780-84) : Warren Hastings attacked French port Mahe, which was in Haidar Ali's territory.

5. Haidar Ali led a joint front with Nizam and Maratha and capture Arco (Capital of Carnatic state).

6. In 1781, Haidar Ali was defeated at Porto Novo by Eyrecoot.

7. He died during the Second Anglo-Mysore war.

Tipu Sultan 1782-99

1. Haidar Ali was succeeded by his son Ti u Sultan n 1782.

2. He continued the Second Anglo-M sore w r till 1784.

3. The Treaty of Mangalore (1784) was igned by Tipu Sultan which ended the Second Anglo-Mysore ar.

4. Third Anglo-Mysore war (790-92): Maratha and Nizam aided the British, Cornwallis capatured Ba galor By the Treaty of Seringapatnam (1792), Tipu ceded half of his te itory.

5. Fourth Angl -Mys e war (799) : Lord Wellesly attacked and Tipu Sultan died.

6. Tipu was t only Indian ruler who have understood the importance of econom streng h as the foundation of military strength.

7. Tipu estab hed the embassies to France, Turkey, Iran and Pegu to develop foreign trade.

8. Tipu planted a 'tree of liberty' at his capital Seringapatnam and became a member of Jacobian Club.

Punjab

1. Guru Gobind Singh, the 10th and the last Guru of the Sikhs, transformed the religious sect into a military brotherhood.

2. In the confusion and disorder that followed the invasion of Nadir Shah and Ahmad Shah Abdali, the sikhs increased their military strength and became a strong power.

3. Maharaja Ranjit Singh (1792-1839) : He was the greatest Indian ruler of his time and founder of the Sikh rule in the Punjab. Bom in 1780 at Gujranwala, he occupied Lahore in 1799 and made it his capital. He conquered Am itsa in 1802, occupied Ludhiana and after incessant wars, annexed Kangra, At ock, Multan, Kashmir, Hazara, Bannu, Derajat and Peshawar. He died in 1839

4. Successors of Ranjit Singh : Kharak Singh (1839-40), Naunih I Singh (1840), Sher Singh (1841-43), Dalip Singh (1843-49).

5. The Sikh power was broken by the British after t death o Ranjit Singh.

6. First Anglo-Sikh war (1845-46) : Sikhs we e de ated all the four battles at Mudki, Ferozshah, Aliwal and Sobraon. The Treaty f Lahore (1846) ended the war. Sir Henry Lawerence became the first esident.

7. Second Anglo-Sikh war (1848-49) Dalhousie annexed Punjab. Sir John Lawerence became the first chief comm ssioner of Punjab.