## **Delimitation Commission of India**

- **1.** Delimitation Commission or Boundary Commission of India is a Commission established by Government of India under the provisions of the Delimitation Commission Act.
- **2.** The main task of the Commission is to redraw the boundaries of the various assembly and Lok Sabha Constituencies based on a recent census (Art. 82).
- **3.** The representation from each state is not changed during this exercis. How er, the number of SC and ST seats in a state are changed in accordance with the cens s.
- **4.** The Commission in India is a high power body whose order hav the f e of law and cannot be called in question before any court.
- 5. These orders come into force on a date to be specifie by the resident of India in this behalf. The copies of its orders are laid before the Ho se of the P ople and the state Legislative Assembly concerned, but no modificati are p missible there in by them.
- **6.** In India, such Delimitation Commissions ve been c nstituted 4 times—in 1952, 1963, 1973 and in 2002.
- 7. The recent Delimitation Commission was set up on 12 July 2002 (after 2001 census) with Justice Kuldip Singh (retd. J g of Sup eme Court of India) as its Chairperson.
- **8.** The recommendation of t commiss n was approved by the then President Pratibha Patil on 19 Febr ry 20 8
- **9.** The Constitution of India w s specifically amended in 2002 (84th Amendment Act, 2001, which amended he provis ons 170 (3) of Art. 82) not to have delimitation of constitu ncies t the firs us after 2026.
- **10.** The rec n delim ion has been done on the basis of census 2001.
- **11.** Elec n Commissioners of all the States and Union Territories, along-with the Chief Electio Commissioner (CEC) of India are the members of the Delimitation Commission.