## Constituent Assembly and Making of the Constitution

**1.** The Cabinet Mission envisaged the establishment of a Constituent Assembly to frame a Constitution for the country. Members of the Constituent Assembly were elected by the Provincial Legislative Assemblies.

2. Each Province and each Indian State were allotted seats in proportion of its population, roughly in the ratio of one to a million. The seats so ascertained re distributed among the main communities in each Province. The main communities recognised were Sikh, Muslim and General.

**3.** The total number of members of the Constituent Assembly was 85, of hom 93 were representatives from the Indian States and 292 from the P ovinces British India). After the partition of India number of members of the Con titu t Assemb came to 299, of whom 284 were actually present on the 26th Novembe 1949 a d signed on the finally approved Constitution of India. The Constituent Assembly which ha been elected for undivided India, held its first meeting on Decemb r 9, 946, a d reassembled on August 14, 1947, as the sovereign Constituent Assembly for the minion of India.

**4.** It took two years, eleven months and ighte n days fo the Constituent Assembly to finalise the Constitution.

**5.** Objective Resolution was modin the rst session of the Constituent Assembly (on 13 December, 1946) by Pandit awahar 1 Nehru which was adopted after considerable deliberation and debate in the ssembly on 22 January, 1947. The following objectives were embodied in the rest tion

6. The principles o he Constitution were outlined by various committees of the Assembly, and there w s a gene 1 discussion on the reports of these Committees. The Assembly apported the D fting Committee with Dr. B.R. Ambedkar as the Chairman on ugust 9 1 47

7. Th Draftin Committee, headed by Dr. B.R. Ambedkar, submitted a Draft constitutio of Ind to the President of the assembly on 21 February 1948.

**8.** The memb s of Drafting Committee were N. Gopalaswamy Ayyangar, Alladi Krishnaswamy A yar, K.M. Munshi, Mohd. Saadullah, B.L. Mitter (later replaced by N. Madhava Rao), Dr. D.P. Khaitan (replaced on death by T.T. Krishnamachari).

**9.** The third and final reading of the draft was completed on November 26, 1949. On this date, the signature of the President of the Assembly was appended to it and the Constitution was declared as passed.

**10.** The provisions relating to citizenship, elections and provisional Parliament etc. were implemented with immediate effect, that is, from the 26th November, 1949. The rest of the provisions of the constitution came into force on January 26, 1950 and this date is referred to in the Constitution as the date of its commencement.