

JK Chrome | Employment Portal



Rated No.1 Job Application of India

Sarkari Naukri Private Jobs Employment News Study Material Notifications











JK Chrome





www.jkchrome.com | Email : contact@jkchrome.com

The Official Languages

1. The Official language of the Union is Hindi in Devanagri script [Art. 343]. English was to continue to be used as principal official language of the Union side-by-side with Hindi till 1965.

2. The first Official Language Commission was appointed in 1955 under Shri B.G. Kher as Chairman and it recommended that a rigid date line for change over of language should not be prescribed. This recommendation was accepted.

Language of the State/Link Language :

1. Article 345 seeks to tackle the issue of the official language for each state and the language for intra-State official transactions.

2. The Legislature of a State can adopt any one or more languages used in the State or Hindi for the official purposes of that State. There is also a provision for the recognition of any other language for the official purpose of a State or any part thereof, upon a substantial popular demand for it being made to the President {Ref.: Art. 347}.

Language of the SC and HCs and authoritative text of laws :

1. Until Parliament by law provides otherwise, English is the language of authoritative text of—? All proceedings in the Supreme Court and in every High Court. ? All Bills or amendments thereto moved in either House of Parliament or the State Legislature. ? All Acts passed by Parliament or the Legislature of a State. ? All Ordinances promulgated by the President or the Governor of a State. ? All orders rules, regulations and by-laws issued under Constitution or under any law made by Parliament or the legislature of a State.

2. A State Legislature can prescribe the use of any language other than English for Bills and Acts passed by itself or Subordinate Legislation made thereunder.

3. The languages included in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution are: Assamese, Bengali, Gujrati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malyalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepalese, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, Maithili, Santhali, Dogri and Bodo.

4. Sindhi was inserted by the Constitution (21st Amendment) Act, 1967.

5. Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali were inserted by the Constitution (71st Amendment) Act, 1992.

6. Maithili, Dogri, Bodo and Santhali were inserted by the Constitution (92nd Amendment) Act, 2003.

7. The only privileges gained by the languages included in the 8th Schedule are

8. To have a member in the Official Language Commission.

9. To be considered for contribution towards the development of Hindi language.

nnn